Fall decorations

I had fall decorations but after looking at them I decided I wanted to try something new.

When I was out at goodwill last week I came across this bright orange plate, I said to myself I know exactly what I am going to do with this and for $1 it was a deal.

20110925-095027.jpg</a
Above is the picture of the orange plate prior to applying the vinyl I cut out on my cricut machine.

20110925-095142.jpg
Above is the vinyl on my cricut mat I decided to use the stretch your imagination cartridge because it had a few fall options that I liked. I had to play around with the sizing because every option will cut out differently. I couldn’t decide on the fall tree or pumpkin so I showed my husband to get his opinion and he suggested using the fall tree.

Just a side note there are also cute Halloween options in this cartridge as well that I could have used for the plate but I wanted to keep it up all fall. If you decide to do a Halloween plate there was a spider and a pumpkin, if you wanted thanksgiving they had a cute turkey.

The goodwill had one or two more plates left I am going to go back to see if they are still there so I can make another plate to sell in my etsy shop. My shop is http://www.ahindle78.etsy.com

20110925-095814.jpg
Above is the picture of the vinyl after I peeled the pieces off that I will be using I got this brown vinyl on sale at Walmart for $6 but recently found out after going to multiple walmarts not all stores have cricut items for sale. Just certain stores are not selling cricut items any longer.

20110925-100029.jpg

20110925-100038.jpg
Above are two pictures on how to apply vinyl. You could save money and just apply the vinyl yourself if you are good at it, I used the transfer paper it is easier for me and if u have words or shapes that are very thin without the transfer paper it tends to get tangled up. So it is worth the cost of the transfer paper which I have used several times and still haven’t used a whole sheet.

20110925-100352.jpg
I peeled my transfer tape off after pressing my vinyl down with a wooden depressor to make sure all parts would be on the plate. I took my plate downstairs and placed it into the plate stand to display my crafty work and seen I had another project I could use as part of my fall decorations. I had painted a candlestick that was an ugly green color,

20110925-100705.jpg
As you can see it was multiple colors so I decided to paint it gray. I also had come across a large glass hurricane holder so yesterday afternoon I had glued them together. So when I came downstairs I said I know let me grab my black candle and add the candy corns I have left from another project and display this right next to my orange fall plate

20110925-100918.jpg
Above is finished display for fall I think little is more so this puts a small touch of fall into our home.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Green, Baby! Designs
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 13:54:47

    LOVE the plate! Very cute for fall! I have been toying with purchasing a cricut and this project inspires me to start looking in earnest! ;o)

    Reply

  2. studio35photography
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 15:43:36

    Do you have a special cricut machine that cuts vinyl? I have the cricut expression and I didn’t know if mine would cut vinyl…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

