DIY Outdoor/Indoor Boot Holder

I have been searching for a long time for a solution to solve my problem of water all over my floors in the winter months.
I don’t have a large area by the front door and when u walk in it is a white slippery floor that goes right into kitchen or into the living room and dining room that has hardwood floors.

20120104-185158.jpg
One day after cleaning the floors for hours for a get together I looked at my floors I worked so hard on cleaning and said to myself why do I even bother because everyone drags in something with them into he house like leaves, dirt, etc these floors show everything.

I can’t afford to change my flooring at the present time so I had to figure out a solution well as I was reading the Clean & Scentsible blog which I love and be sure to check it out and subscribe cause there is so many good ideas you can use in your home. Below is a picture of the picture she had on he blog of the boot holder.

20120104-185900.jpg
As soon as I seem this picture I stopped reading the blog because I knew I had seen one of these trays at my local dollar store and wanted to head over and grab one which I did lol.

Like I said I didn’t read the whole post yet so while I was at the dollar store they also had the river rocks and had several bags of different size rocks and from just the brief look at the picture I thought they were just laying on he tray, which by all means u can do but as the clean and scentsible blog stated she feared with children the rocks would be all over the place.

I was thinking while trying to decide on which rocks to use was that my bad boy beagle will have a field day with messing with the rocks and also I didn’t want him eating them or swollowing them by accident because this wouldn’t save us any money due to bet bills.

I figured I would buy some glue and glue the rocks down but decided when I get home I will read the blog post to get directions on making the boot holder, I started laughing because I had the same idea. She also glued her rocks down as well. I can’t wait to use this and hope it cuts down on the slippery foyer and kitchen and looks much better then a bunch of bath towels on the floor ( come in you have done this to).

I will be making my boot tray holder tonight. Fresh home ideas also had a similar idea but may be a little more money to put together but below is a picture of their idea. Have fun making your boot holders.

20120104-191032.jpg

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Molly
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 15:19:47

    I totally need one of these myself — I hate cleaning the mudroom area!

    Reply

  2. Kendyll Nicole
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 03:11:34

    Love this idea! I want to make one this winter.

    Reply

  3. thislittlecupcake
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 16:06:17

    Love it! Thanks for checking out my blog 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

